Apprendre le français

Bonjour mes amis! Hello my friends!

New life goal: Learn French.

“Aren’t you Canadian?! Isn’t French your country’s second language? Didn’t they teach you that in school?”

Yes, I am Canadian. Yes, French is Canada’s official second language. Yes, I studied French in school from grade 4 to grade 9. But sadly, I can’t speak, write or read French.

I have some words in the back of my head from my many years of French education (jambon = ham / bibliothèque = library / papillon = butterfly). But after grade 9 (age 14/15) French language is not a mandatory course and I between then and now (ten years…) I seem to have forgotten basically everything. In addition, I wasn’t all that great with the language even when I was studying it on a regular basis.

So why do I want to learn French now? After all this time getting along just fine with English.

french

Well, I suppose it’s a number of reasons. I want to give myself a challenge. I want to be a more rounded citizen. I want to be able to travel and communicate with different people. That is the true goal here, communication. I wont be reading French novels or anything like that but I want to be able to talk to people and get by on my own with French.

They say that the best way to learn a language is to immerse yourself in it. Well I can’t go to Quebec or France anytime soon so here is how I will be immersing myself in french.

  • Facebook – I have changed my facebook default language to French so that my brain has to work a little harder while browsing the web.
  • Duolingo – This handy little app teaches you the basics of a language through little quizzes and tests right on your phone. So I have a goal to do 20 minutes a day.
  • Talking – I have a few friends who are bilingual and they have agreed to talk to me in french sometimes so that I can become more familiar with the language.

Here’s hoping this will be a fun, challenging and rewarding learning journey!

Au Revoir!

 

2 thoughts on “Apprendre le français

Leave a Reply

