Looking backwards. Moving Forwards.

Happy New Year! 

NYE

I am a little late to the game but I hope everyone had a safe, fun and happy new years. My roommates and I threw a very successful party. Potentially party of the year, I’d say! More on that in another post. 

Last year I took some time to lay out 3 new years resolutions. It is a healthy activity, I think, to take time to look at your life and focus the lens a little. Here are my goals/resolutions from 2015:

Learn to cook: checkmark-clip-artI am no chef by any means but for the most part I have figured out how to make myself a decent meal. Sometimes it’s a super amazingly delicious meal and sometimes it is just edible but hey, I still cooked it! My best meal in my books is probably the sweet potato medley or perhaps chicken. 

Embrace the now: download This is still a work in progress, I have a feeling it always will be. It is so easy to look forward to the future and imagine all the possibilities and doing that sometimes isn’t a bad thing. But I still feel as though I spend more time in my head, enjoying my pretend future, than in the real world with my present. 

Run a 5k Race: checkmark-clip-art Success! This year I ran not one but two 5km races! Checking this off the list was a very big highlight of my 2015 and proof to myself that I can do anything I set my mind to. Go Me! 

IMG_6397

So there you have it, folks. Two out of three resolutions deemed successful!

Now onto 2016! 

Live in the Present: download I am rephrasing the above resolution a little bit. This year I want to be present and enjoy the here and now. I think digging deeper into my yoga and meditation practice will really help with this, so I guess this resolution is a fancy way of saying “do more yoga”.

Start Saving:download I’m a real life adult now and that means I need to start acting like one financially. So I am going to create a budget and stick to it!

Embrace fitness as a lifestyle, instead of a chore: download The goal here is to have fun being healthy. Right now I feel obligated and almost forced to go to the gym. I am hoping to modify my mentality and enjoy my workouts as a part of a healthy lifestyle instead of as punishment.

These goals are less tangible than those from 2015. Well, other than the money one. But I think these are the things in my life that can be improved on. Personal growth is always a good thing. So hopefully by keeping these goals in mind throughout the year, 2016 will be the best year yet.

Be sure to check in about 365 days from now to see if I was successful!

Share in the comments! What are your 2016 New Years Resolutions?

One thought on “Looking backwards. Moving Forwards.

Leave a Reply

