Summer Shape Up: Week 4 Update

Well The 4 week summer shape up program is over. Well technically it was over a week ago, but I re-did week 3 because #life. So I’ve been following along with the Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up Program, it is a free month long fitness program offered on Gina’s blog. Each week she provides a workout schedule and healthy meal ideas. The idea is do what you can, when you can. Week two was great in terms of the weekdays but the weekend was not good at all.I was posting my progress each week in order to keep myself accountable, feel free to read and follow along if your interested.

SSU20152


Food

See last week’s update post to read about the cleanse that I’ve been doing. I finished that up this week and I look and feel fantastic! I will most definitely be continuing to drink the shakes for breakfast from now on and I think doing a cleanse day or two once a month could do a lot of good for me in the long run. My cravings for fatty foods and sugars are mostly gone. Although I have a feeling they will come rushing back pretty quickly. The cleanse has helped in more than just weight, my skin is softer, I have more energy and I don’t have head aches. End result is a very happy Alex.


Exercise

ssu2015-week-4-workouts

Daily: 20-30 minutes of Yoga with Adriene

Monday: 1 hour long hot yoga class

Tuesday: HIIT Start Cardio & Workout # 3

hiit-start

Wednesday: Workout # 2

Thursday: Steady State – 2 hours of hiking

Friday: Yoga for weight loss abs & arms

Saturday: Off

Sunday: Off

I really committed to doing more strength training this week. I discovered that I LOVED the HIIT cardio running. I find HIIT cardio doing body weight exercises is not my favourite thing. But while running I really enjoyed it. I downloaded a free interval timing app and ran outside, alternating between as fast as I could go and slow jogging. While I ran a shorter distance I worked WAY harder. So I think I will try to run a HIIT run at least once or twice a week from now on. I’ve also added a lot of yoga to my routine. It is helping my body to be much less achy from sitting in an office chair all day.


Summary

I am feeling great after this week. Really happy with all of my progress and commitment. However, I realized that l had set a goal of completing all the workouts. I unfortunately did not reach that goal because on Saturday I left the country for a week long vacation in the Dominican Republic. I’m too busy sipping rum and cokes on the beach to worry about working out. That being said, I do feel as if I finished strong. So goal accomplished!

I feel that the whole point of the shape up was to get different types of fitness into the daily routine and that has definitely happened. I cannot wait to participate in the winter shape up later this year!

11703317_10153165564888558_2696263516463627424_n
Hiking at sunset!

***Please Note: This is a pre-scheduled post. I am currently out of the country (experiencing the world and living life). A small number of posts have been pre-scheduled in my time away. I will respond to comments & questions when I come home. Enjoy!

One thought on “Summer Shape Up: Week 4 Update

Leave a Reply

