Summer Shape Up: Week 3 Update

Bad news bears friends. I did not do so hot with week 3. The Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up Program is a free month long fitness program offered on Gina’s blog. Each week she provides a workout schedule and healthy meal ideas. The idea is do what you can, when you can. Week two was great in terms of the weekdays but the weekend was not good at all.I am posting my progress each week in order to keep myself accountable, feel free to read and follow along if your interested.

SSU20152


Food

To access the recipe suggestions provided by Gina this week, visit her site!

Breakfasts: I went to town on fried eggs and hot sauce this week. Sometimes I kept it healthy by adding avocado, other times I added bread and cheese and all the delicious things.

Lunches: Still LOVING grain bowls, as per this recipe. Got some great advice about cooking brown rice from Ray and this time it was fluffy and delicious! My favourite combo of the week was a greek inspired bowl.

Dinners: Well the week began with all you can eat sushi… I think it went up from there. I had a fantastic quinoa and chicken dish from Moxie’s on Friday. And a delicious and gluten free mushroom pasta dish from a really cool place in Toronto called Harvest Kitchen. I guess I ate out a lot this week.

Saturday & Sunday: This weekend was hot! So I had a lot of Popsicles and ice cream. Which I do not regret for a second. So cool and delicious! But filled with sugar and bad things. I was also in a very “snacky” mood this weekend. So I over indulged on potato chips and popcorn. Let’s just pretend that the weekend didn’t happen.


Exercise

ssu2015-week-3-workouts

Daily: 20-30 minutes of Yoga with Adriene (except this week I failed at this as well, but you can assume that I did it unless I say otherwise)

Monday: Absolutely nothing — not even yoga

Tuesday: Plank Burner + Workout # 4

Wednesday: 1.5 hour Hot Yoga Class

Thursday: Absolutely nothing — not even yoga

Friday: 15 mins of yoga only

Saturday: Absolutely nothing — not even yoga

Sunday: 20 mins of yoga only

I let myself slide this week. Maybe it was the holiday or maybe I just got lazy. The second one is very likely. But I’ll tell you what, I can tell that I’ve been lazy this week. My whole body feels slow and weighed down. I have no energy and I feel sleepy. Obviously not working out, isn’t working.


Summary

As you can see I didn’t get much done in the way of last weeks goals. So I have decided to press RESET and start week 3 from scratch. I figure there is no point in pushing through to week 4 if I accomplished nothing in week 3. I’ve decided to keep the same goals for this week seeing as I didn’t really see them through during this past week. Gina said that staying on track for week 3 is the hardest and she is totally right. Sinking or swimming is a choice and this past week I chose to sink but no more! Today I turn things around. Check back next week for (hopefully) a super positive post about how awesome week 3 2.0 has been.

  • Continue to drink a lot more water
  • Reduce wheat & dairy & sugar intake
  • Complete all workouts on the schedule
Not remotely related to fitness, but Happy (belated) Canada Day!
Not remotely related to fitness, but Happy (belated) Canada Day from katie & I!
One thought on “Summer Shape Up: Week 3 Update

Leave a Reply

