The aftermath of achieving a goal

Back in January I decided that I needed to set myself some goals because I strongly believe that if you don’t have a goal then you aren’t going anywhere. I never want to be complacent in life. Happy with the now, for sure! But settling for the same routine day in and day out just doesn’t work for me.

Recently I achieved my fitness goal of running a 5k race. It was an incredibly exciting experience and I am still so proud of myself for all the hard work I put in. I was concerned that after I was successful I would become lazy so I preemptively signed up for another 5k in early June. Smart thinking, Alex!

Except for lazy Alex has way more influence than smart thinker Alex. Even though I know I’ve got this other race coming up I haven’t been working out nearly as much as I was before the first 5k. Why? Why have I become a lazy butt?

I have a theory. 

I have become lazy, despite my upcoming race, because I’ve already done it once. It is no longer an impossible thing that I must overcome. It is now something that I’ve done so it should be no problem to do it again. Right? WRONG. I know this. I am aware that being in shape is something you must continue to work at. There is no stopping once you achieve your goal weight because as soon as you stop your goal weight slips away from you again. Constant vigilance! I think that’s why people struggle with exercise and fitness. It is a never ending activity.

So I am taking this moment to set a new fitness goal. Hopefully by writing it down for all of the internet to see I will be able to get my butt back in gear. I ran my first 5k in 33 minutes. So my goal for the next 5k is to run it in 30 minutes!

As they say, time is money!

http://fuelrunning.com/running/motivational-running-quotes-to-help-you-push-through
http://fuelrunning.com/running/motivational-running-quotes-to-help-you-push-through
2 thoughts on “The aftermath of achieving a goal

  1. These things are always easier said than done, but if you’re really dedicated, you can definitely do it! \ ( ^ – ^ ) / Just find a new source of motivation and put those running shoes on before the mood is gone. Anyways, good luck for the preparation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

