Thoughts I had while running my first ever 5k

“Wow, there are a lot of people here…”

“Holy shit I was not expecting this many people!”

IMG_6392

“Is that a 10 year old? Wait, Is that a 5 year old? Why are there so many children here?”

“Go? Oh go! Alright! Lets do this!

“…I guess when there are this many people all packed together it’s slow at the start”

“Oh look, there’s Lucas! Should I wave? Smile? Wink? Alight awkward nervous smile it is.”

IMG_6393

“Man I am so lucky, he is the best! It is 8 am and he is here cheering me on. I love Lucas. I should remember to tell him that later.”

“alright, now we are moving! Focus Alex! Lets start with a light jog. Start steady, finish strong.”

“Did another child just ran past me? Why are these children so fit?” Am I going to be beaten by a 10 year old? Probably. Gawd that’s pathetic.”

“Shut up, brain! The kids don’t matter. This is about you. Focus. Breathe in through the nose, out through the mouth. One. Two. One. Two.”

“Hey look! 2k down! Only 3 to go! Easy peasy!

“Me and this girl in white have been beside each other for a while now. She has a good pace. I’m gonna stick with her. She doesn’t know it but she is my running buddy.”

“3k and girl in white is picking up the pace. You are right running buddy, we can totally push ourselves a little harder now.”

“Do I see water in the distance?! Omgsh I do! An excuse to slow down, thank goodness!”

“ew. This is Gatorade.”

“Oh no! The girl in white is way ahead now! I guess taking a moment to walk now would be okay. So long girl in white…”

“Actually, NO! I am fine! My breathing is okay. My muscles are okay. But I’m fine! In fact I am great! There is only 1k left! I’m coming for ya girl in white!”

“Sup girl”

“omg! I can see the finish line! Omg omg omg! I am so close! I ran the whole time! and now I am almost at the finish! This is amazing!”

“20 steps and I am over the finish line! Finish strong Alex! You can do this!”

IMG_6388“Oh my goodness! I really did it! I just ran 5k!”

“Hi Lucas! Oh my gosh he is so adorable! Look at me, I did it!”

“Oh there is the girl in white! I must thank her for motivating me to keep running the whole time!”

IMG_6383

“So nice to meet you, Shilpa! It’s your first run too?! Well you were amazing! Wait, I motivated you?! You motivated me! Let’s take a picture!”

“Free bananas? Why yes, I would love a banana!”

“Ahhhhh! I am so proud of myself!”

IMG_6386

“33 minutes?! My time was only 33 minutes! That is so much better than I had expected!

“A medal?! I get a medal?! I’ve never had a medal before! Check me out!”

IMG_6387

“That was awesome! I can’t wait for the next one! Go me!”

12 thoughts on “Thoughts I had while running my first ever 5k

  1. Great read. Having just ran my first race I totally can relate to all the “kids running”. Many passed me as well. I enjoyed this post so much. Your humor and style is fantastic. And congrats on your first 5k. I enjoyed reading your journey along the route. Good Luck in the future. And to your running buddy in white! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed all my random musings. It was an interesting but enjoyable experience for sure! I hope your first race was also a success!

      Liked by 1 person

    • That is incredible! You have no idea how moving it is to receive a message like that! I totally encourage you to do it! It feels so good to accomplish something physical all on my own.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant post- thanks for making me laugh!! I had so many kids running past me when I managed my first 5k the other day, I’m so glad I’m not the only one that happens to! I’m now really looking forward to my race!

    Like

Leave a Reply

