Tourists Guide to the World: Capua & Casserta, Italy

I love Europe. I really do.  I love the history that is on display in the middle of bustling cities. I love Canada too but it is so young by comparison. There are no royal palaces or crumbling gladiator areas in Toronto. That scenery is unique to Europe and perhaps also Asia.

10712921_10152478586313558_4556818237212626439_n

One of our day trips while we were in Italy was to the neighboring cities of Capua and Caserta.

The first stop of the day was the gladiators training arena in Capua. This arena was where the gladiators fought before making their way over to Rome. It is basically a smaller version of the Roman Colosseum. The outside is pretty crumbled but they have done a good job at preserving the inside and below ground passages.

An underground passage of the amphitheater.
An underground passage of the amphitheater.
Lucas' dad giving us his best Gladiator pose.
Lucas’ dad giving us his best Gladiator pose.

I think one of the reasons the outside is literally turning to dust is because the government cannot afford to upkeep the place. I find this incredibly sad as it is a beautiful piece of history. This place isn’t like Rome. There were no lines. It only cost us 2 Euro each to go in. And there was only 1  other couple there at the same time as us. (by comparison we waited for 30 minutes to get into the Roman Colosseum, it was crowded and it cost 16 Euro per person). In a way I loved that we had the time and space to explore but I hate to think that this place just be a pile of rubble one day.

A side by side replica of the amphitheater as it looks today and when it was originally built.
A side by side replica of the amphitheater as it looks today and when it was originally built.
The outer ring of the arena.
The outer ring of the arena.
Standing in the middle of the area. Can you imagine how much blood was shed here?!
Standing in the middle of the area. Can you imagine how much blood was shed here?!
A view of the outer wall from afar.
A view of the outer wall from afar.

Our next stop was the Reggia Palace in Casserta or the Royal Palace. This place was absolutely stunning! It was set up kind of like an art museum. You walked from room to room. Some rooms where set up with paintings, others filled with furniture, other rooms were works of are entirely on their own.

The Reggia Palace in Casserta
The Reggia Palace in Casserta
A Bed fit for a Princess
A Bed fit for a Princess
The library! My favourite room in the house!
The library! My favourite room in the house!
Check out that candle holder...
Check out that candle holder.

I had a million more pictures. Seriously I took pictures of EVERYTHING. But I can only photo drop so many pictures before people get sick of me. Take my word, it was an exceptional day trip. I learned a ton and saw so many beautiful things. So if your looking for things to do in Italy outside of Rome I recommend a visit to both of these wonderful spots. 

4 thoughts on “Tourists Guide to the World: Capua & Casserta, Italy

  1. Wonderful photos, Alex, including those lovely ones of you. Thank you so much for sharing them. You’re right about Europe and history (and Asia, too). We have historical sites at every turn. Like you, I adore Italy. On Wednesday I’m going down to Southern Spain for a week to do some research for my third book. We’ll be looking at all the old Moorish towns and cities – Seville, Cordoba and Granada in particular. i can’t wait.

    Like

    • Thank you, Millie! I hope to do a lot more traveling in Europe and maybe Asia in the future. Spain is on my long list of places I want to visit. I hope you will take lots of photographs while you are there! Be safe and happy travels!

      Like

Leave a Reply

