It’s my birthday, I will brag if I want to!

That is how the song goes right!? Kidding, I know the lyrics are cry if I want to. But I do not want to cry. I want to sing with joy because my friends and family are so spectacular! They made my birthday (which was on Tuesday) so special and they made me feel so loved and important. So I am going to brag and share and shout it to the hill tops!

Fun fact: My dad and I actually share the same birthday. Yup, you got that right. I was the best birthday gift he ever got. So on Monday night Lucas and I went to my house for dinner. This was when we got to do our annual Easter egg hunt. Then we had a lovely dinner, I got to choose the meal this year and I picked tacos. And after dinner we did presents and cake!

IMG_6189I got my dad (and my brother) tickets to a spring Blue Jays Game. And my parents got me a shopping spree, by that I mean that my mum is taking me shopping. Both my personal style and body are changing, so she figured it was best if I picked out my own things.

On Tuesday, I had to wake up and go to work like normal which was kind of a bummer.IMG_6190 But my co-worker, Bree, made it more exciting by bringing me a box of donuts from Tim Horton’s! Let me take a second to tell you about donuts. As a general rule I only eat donuts if I am celebrating something. It makes them special. So when I got the lead in the school show, donut. When I got accepted to my post graduate program, donut. When I got a job after graduation, donut! So Bree decided that a birthday was worth celebrating and got me some donuts!

At our office we do this thing where who ever had their birthday before you has to celebrate your birthday. So around 3pm I was surprised with a lovely home baked cake! Cherry Chip! It was actually so effing delicious. I can’t even. Also, it was a cake… Shaped like a cup cake! It literally does not get cuter than that!

IMG_6192
IMG_6193 Birthday girl has to cut the cake!

On Tuesdays I have choir rehearsal, so instead of going home I had time to kill. Normally I go to the gym on Tuesdays before choir but my desire to exercise on my bday was nill. So I went out for dinner with one of my best friends, Karin, instead.

Really funny story about dinner. We went to a chair restaurant called Swiss Chalet. Nothing special but its a classic. So Karin says for my birthday she will buy me a drink. She asks the waitress what cocktails are available. The waitress, who speaks very little english, says there are none… Okay, so Karin asks for two Shirley Temples with a shot of rum on the side for each of us. The woman comes back with the drinks, the shots and cups of ice. I guess she thought we might have the rum on the rocks. Instead we poured the liquor into those Shirley Temples. She stares at us, looking very confused, and says “where did it go?!” Ummmm its in the drink… “But I don’t see it!?” It was adorable and hilarious all at the same time. We tried to explain that we mixed it in but I’m not sure she understood.

At dinner Karin gave me an adorable gift. It was owl themed. A stunning owl card, lip balm in owl packaging, an owl eraser and an owl bookmark! The bookmark was the best part because I love reading and it looks super good in my book.

During Choir the whole choir sang happy birthday to me. It was beautiful! Then after choir Lucas and his friend Taylor picked us up and we went for a drink at a bar around the corner. Taylor dropped us off at home around 10:30pm. I was surprised to find both Lucas’s parents awake, the front hall decorated, gifts and cheese cake!!

IMG_6188IMG_6194

One of my other best friends, Katie, had dropped off a gift for me. It was an owl shaped mug! I really like owls. And the mug was filled with candy! Which is all gone now…

Lucas’s parents got me a brand new blender! They wanted to get me something for when I move out on my own in the fall (more on that another day). I have all of the basic appliances from my student days and now I have a fancy blender to make soups and smoothies!

Last but certainly not least, Lucas had what he called a verbal gift for me. Meaning that he told me what we were going to do for my birthday but didn’t have a physical gift. Here is what he said: When my work schedule calms down in May we are going to go on a little staycation. We are going to use AirBnB to rent a nice condo in Toronto and spend the weekend living the city life. We are going to walk to the CN tower, maybe visit the ROM, visit the market. Lucas is going to cook me a fancy Chef Cugini meal one night and we can enjoy some expensive champagne! He then proceeded to pull the said bottle of champagne out from under his pillow. I am so excited for this romantic stay-at-home-getaway weekend! I want April to fly by! We spent some time on AirBnB last night and we booked this fantastic condo. It is sleek and modern and still homey.

In addition to all of that so many friends were texting, calling and messaging me with well wishes and love. It was a really great day. I felt so happy and so loved! The best part?! The Birthday celebrations aren’t done yet! At the end of the month I am having a triple birthday party with Karin and Katie because they celebrate birthdays in April too!

What is your favourite part about birthdays?! Share in the comments!

6 thoughts on “It’s my birthday, I will brag if I want to!

  1. Happy Birthday, Alex. I ddn’t get round to reading this yesterday because I was enjoying myself celebrating my own birthday! You seem to have had a great day, with lots of family and friends around … and so did I. But we ended up having dinner out. At my age birthdays aren’t quite the same as when you’re 24! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Mille! Happy belated Birthday to you as well! What a strange coincidence that our days were so close together! I hope you had a lovely day of celebration and love with your family!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mine was April 11th. I thought yours was too? Yes, it’s always chaotic when we see so many of our family all at once. Our youngest son is still working abroad, so he wasn’t here, unfortunately. Hope you’ve come back to Earth now. You had a whale of a time, by the sounds of it. 🙂

        Like

      • My birthday was actually on Tuesday the 7th. But I posted on the weekend because I had so much other stuff going on this week. My sister was also away on my birthday because of work. Sadly, I am back in the real world. Birthday world is so much more exciting.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

