DIY: Wine Bottle Picture Frame

Wow. Hello! It’s been a while! That is because I have been very busy in the real world. Choir practice, choreographing, dinners out, Easter, birthday parties and a little DIY.

You see almost everyone I know is born in the spring. March and April have a lot going on in terms of birthdays. I simply cannot afford to buy a gift for each and every one of my friends. So I decided it was time to get creative. Thanks to the search term “best friend DIY gifts” Pinterest was able to provide some fantastic inspiration.

A Wine Bottle Picture Frame

aac0493aeb704cf3eb8d2e503db2ed7e
Unfortunately the Pin did not link to a blog so all I have is this photo.

This person (whoever they are… The pin didn’t link to a blog. Just the photo) used rhinestones to decorate their bottle. I loved the idea but hated the blingy-ness. I’m all for a little sparkle but too much becomes tacky really fast. So I decided to go a different route and use buttons.

IMG_6118

This was a relatively inexpensive project. All I needed was a wine bottle, a picture, buttons, Mod Podge and Gem Tac Glue. I found everything that I needed at the craft store Michael’s.

IMG_6112Step One: Stick the Photo to the bottle. I started by curving the edges of the photo so that it would sit nicely on the bottle. Then I used two coats of Mod Podge to make it stick!

IMG_6114Step Two: Use the Gem Tac to glue on your buttons or rhinestones or whatever you choose. I noticed that I had to go small sections at a time because the glue needed to dry flat or else the buttons would slip around.

IMG_6115

Note: I decided to leave space between my buttons intentionally but you could always squish them a little closer together if you wanted to.

Step Three: Once all the buttons are glued down let the bottle sit for at least 24 hours. Then enjoy a beautiful & unique picture frame!

IMG_6117 IMG_6116

What would you use to decorate your wine bottle picture frame??! Share in the comments!

4 thoughts on “DIY: Wine Bottle Picture Frame

Leave a Reply

