Weekend Recap: The Boyfriend’s Bday Shinanigans

I’m going to start today’s post by wishing my very favourite person in the whole world a very…

HAPPY  22nd BIRTHDAY!!!

I love birthdays! I’m not sure which part I like best because there are so many awesome aspects. To name a few:

The cake – Everyone wins when there is cake involved.

The gifts – Whether your the gift giver or the gift receiver there is nothing more fun then gifts. Personally I enjoy the gift giving. Selecting the perfect thing and presenting it in a fun way is what I am all about.

The balloons – Decorative and traditional.

Time with family & friends – Its always nice to have an excuse to bring people together. Especially when it is a happy occasion.


Even though Lucas’ actual real birth date is today we used the whole weekend to celebrate. On Friday we went out for dinner, just the two of us, to a great little restaurant called The Pump. Normally I HATE it when two people at the same table order the same meal but we decided to be those people and we both got the seafood pasta, which was delicious! When we got home from dinner Lucas got to open his gifts from me. Check out Wednesday’s post to find out what I got him. Then we spent the rest of the night watching movies.

On Saturday we enjoyed a much needed sleep in. I woke up around 11:30 and went to the gym. I’m still running inside on the treadmill because even though things are finally starting to warm up in Canada the air is still too harsh for my asthmatic lungs. I’m onto week 4 of my Couch to 5k training program and so far so good! The runs are challenging but not impossible, so I can finish them and still feel like I have accomplished something. In the afternoon Lucas and I had to go over to my parent’s house and deliver my little brother’s weekend paper route. The rest of my family (minus me) is on vaycay in Cuba so someone had to do his job. On the way home we grabbed some delicious burritos, our pre-night out food of choice.

After the sun set our friends came over and we played some drinking games, listened to music and had an all around good time, as you do at birthday celebrations. We made a last minute decision to go to a pool bar near by. By pool I mean the table game, not the water. I’m not too great at pool but Lucas and his friends love it. It was great because a friend who lives really far away made the trip down for Lucas’ bday night and it was so great to see her!

saturday night
Kev, Me & Tay (the far away friend).

Sunday was pretty much exclusively devoted to sleeping off my hangover. I’m only 23 and I already feel like I can’t drink as much as I used to and still be alive the next day. Thank goodness for costco muffins. In the evening Lucas’ sisters and their husbands came over for a fancy meal, home cooked by his mum. The birthday boy picked the classic steak and potatoes for his birthday meal. I don’t eat steak but the potatoes and veggies were to die for. Topped off with a mint chocolate ice cream cake. Technically I’m not supposed to be eating anything cream based but I figured a sliver of cake wouldn’t do me any harm.

The night came to a close after the rest of his presents were opened. Lucas got a cook book and a multi-use drill tool thing… Obviously I’m no expert on tools. But he was thrilled! I wish I had more pictures to share but I didn’t take too many this weekend. I was too busy!

BDay L

What is your favourite part about birthdays?! Share in the comments!

One thought on “Weekend Recap: The Boyfriend’s Bday Shinanigans

Leave a Reply

