How to Get Out of a Slump

This week has been challenging. For absolutely no good reason at all I’ve been in a stressed, irritable, impatient mood. Its not fun for me or anyone around me but sometimes rain clouds appear and getting rid of them isn’t easy.

Now that the week is coming to a close (T.G.I.F. am I right?!) I am beginning to see a light at the end of the tunnel but believe me I had to put some work to get here. I don’t think this list would work for everyone but it certainly worked for me so I thought I would share.

How to Get Out of a Slump; by Alex Folkes

  • Go to a yoga class and get your stretch on: Personally I prefer hot yoga as it allows me to go deeper into my poses and it also makes me sweat out all the toxins (emotional and physical)
  • Read a book and get lost in the pages: Sometimes escaping into storybook world is the best way to press pause on life. This week I read The Help by Kathryn Stockett. This is a fantastically written novel that is funny, serious, inspirational and eye opening all at the same time. Although normally my go-to escape life books are the Harry Potter series because magic.
  • Get some sleep: Go to bed early and sleep in if you can. If your feeling down then your body is obviously craving something. For me this something is almost always a little more shut eye. 
  • Exercise: Run, walk, bike, swim, whatever. Just move around! As Elle Woods says “Exercise gives you endorphins, endorphins make you happy and happy people just don’t kill their husbands”. Can’t argue with that logic. 
  • Cry it out: If you feel like crying then go ahead and cry. Sometimes the tears just need to fall. Think of it like rain, it is frustrating but at the end of the rain fall the grass is greener. In this metaphor lets call the grass personal sanity. 
  • Enjoy some fresh air: If it is warming up in Canada then it has got to be warming up in the rest of the world. Even if it is only 5 minutes on your lunch break, get outside and breathe in some fresh air, let the sunshine touch your face. Being still with the sun on my face is when I feel most at peace. 
  • Talk with someone you love: For me, that person is my mum. I called and she let me rant about all the silly annoying things about the world and I instantly felt just a tiny bit better. 

How do you pull yourself out of a slump? Share in the comments!

5 thoughts on “How to Get Out of a Slump

  1. Curling up with a good book is good cure-all for me. Just to escape from life for a while can be enough to bring you back into the world with a more positive outlook. Hope you have a better week next week. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

