Sweet Nothings

When I was in grade three my teacher, Mrs. White (for real that is her actual name), used to have us write journal entries about  2 or 3 times a week. She would give us half an hour and tell us to write whatever was in our heads.

Feeling creative? Write a story. Feeling emotional? Write down those thoughts. Feeling passionate about something? Write about it. Feeling like you’ve got writers block? Write about nothing.

Yup, that was a real piece of advice. Even if you’re feeling nothing, write about it. Get half a page of something, anything on paper. I was obviously a little smart ass and at least once a month I would write something that looked like this…

I have nothing to write about because I don’t want to write about anything. Nothing is happening. I have nothing to say. I am not actually writing anything. Nothing. Nothing. Nothing. This is what writing about nothing looks like. I am writing about nothing at all. I am just writing the word nothing and this journal entry is about nothing. 

I thought I was being funny, but little did I know Mrs. White was still teaching me exactly what she had intended. Sometimes the only way to beat writers block is to keep writing. Even if it isn’t your best work, even if you throw it in the trash can when your done, even if you literally write about nothing! At least you are still writing.

So today, as a means of defeating my writers block, here I am writing about absolutely nothing.


How do you conquer writers block? Share in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Sweet Nothings

  1. Cleverly done! That was witty and funny – and a very good read about . . . nothing! Ah, but it wasn’t nothing was it. You told us all about your experiences in Mrs. White’s class. That was actually something!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I have nothing to share, I don’t blog! Simple as that for me. I used to worry about taking too much time off, but WHY?! It’s my space and if people read yay, if not owell!! That doesn’t help you though so to answer your question perhaps go on an adventure to then share on the blog!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment, Brittany. I think I’ve come to realize that posting for me is sometimes less about writing for the readers and more about making space in my head for other thoughts. Similar to the way Dumbledore uses the Pensive to hold his memories. They are not gone from him but aren’t rattling around in his head anymore. That is why I like to blog. I think when I experience writers block it is because I have so much on my mind that it is easier to block it all. But that can hardly be healthy, so I try to push through and keep writing so that I can keep my head clear. That being said, I am well overdue for an adventure so I may just need to steal that idea of yours!

      Like

  3. Wish I had assignments like this in elemantary school! It must have been a great practice for a skill I need more and more often in college. And I guess it’s interesting to read the thoughts of your thrid-grade-self 🙂

    Like

    • I wish more of my teachers had us keep a journal like this. Even if we only wrote once a week. It is definitely a very valuable skill! And third-grade Alex had a lot to say about a lot of things, except of course when I wrote about nothing 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

