The Bravery of My Sister

This is my “little” sister, Natasha. Also known as Tasha, Tash and Na-cha-cha. I put the little in brackets because while she is younger than me, she is also taller and looks more mature (I think).

10433885_10152410712205938_9113238925352525693_n

My sister is a flight attendant. This job is something she has been working towards for just over a year and in December it became official. She underwent 6 weeks of grueling and intensive training to get a position and I couldn’t be more proud of her. The thing is… I’ve never actually told her that. I’ve said good job and that’s awesome but I’ve never said Tasha, I am so proud of you. I guess it’s easier to express emotions onto paper (or a computer screen) than it is to say them out loud. Also, we are just getting out of a period where we didn’t get along to well. We just didn’t see eye to eye on a lot of things so it was easier to fight about it, we are very close in age so bickering and button pushing comes pretty naturally. Now that I’m thinking about it we haven’t had a nice, endearing moment with one another in a while. And I wish I could say that this post is my way of telling her that I care but I’m pretty sure she doesn’t even know that I write a blog at all…

So why then am I writing about my sister? Well, same reason I write about anything else. Because I have these thoughts sitting in my brain and I need to get them out. #thisiswhyblogsexist

Anywhoo, back to the point of this post. I am no novice flyer. I’ve flown back and forth to Europe twice, back and forth to Cuba three times, across Canada and to various places in the states. I have no hesitation getting on a plane but when I think about my sister flying here, there and everywhere on a daily basis… It just makes me nervous. Infrequent flying seems totally natural to me but flying everyday seems to be testing the fates. I imagine there are way more flights everyday then crashes, no one ever reports good news after all, but still. BUT STILL!

But still… she loves it. She is having the time of her life up there! Shes personable and smart and exceptionally pretty so customer service comes naturally to her. She has this thrill for adventure and this need to travel so being able to have lunch in Jamaica but still have breakfast and dinner at home is a luxury.  And she is so brave because she is a flight attendant and I am so proud of her!

I would log off and call her right now to tell her all of this but she is actually in Mexico on a layover. Can’t complain about that! So instead I am going to share with you some of our most adorable moments.

tasha
My 21st Birthday
46070_422727778557_4556054_n
Our Annual Family Photo Shoot. Circa 2011
188443_4588573557_9570_n
The time she got stitches & I lost a tooth all in the same day.
5 thoughts on “The Bravery of My Sister

  1. Your sister is definitely in the right job to see the world. I bet she loves it. One of the loves of my life is travelling and we’ve been to many faraway places. Unfortunately, no one pays us to do so! Shame. Lovely piece about the close relationship between sisters. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

