Green Smoothie Challenge Update

I may have underestimated the difficulty of this challenge. Actually, difficulty is the wrong word, that implies that this is hard when in reality its just kind of annoying. I’m still sticking it out, I haven’t given up yet, but I’ve got some serious kinks to work out.

On the first day I felt great! Lots of energy and I was super busy so I didn’t notice any hunger pangs. By the end of day one I thought I was queen of the smoothie kingdom… I was wrong.

Day two was tough, I drank my smoothie at 7 am for breakfast. By 9:30 am I was starving. I couldn’t concentrate on my work. I could barely keep my eyes open and I was so hungry! I ended up eating my lunch at 10:30 am and then I was starving again well before I got home for dinner. Moral of the story, pack snacks!

I ran into some trouble on day threewell I suppose it is more honest to say that I was an idiot… I forgot to take my smoothie out of the freezer the night before, thus it was solid as a rock on Tuesday morning. So I had some toast and brought the smoothie with me, it took 8 hours to thaw out and I ended up drinking around dinner time. But let me tell you, a smoothie at dinner time is extremely unsatisfying. It is like waking up on Christmas morning to find that Santa didn’t come. Anyway, I wont be making that mistake again.

When I took my smoothie out of the fridge on day four it was still half frozen, which was annoying at first but it ended up being incredibly convenient. As it forced me to drink the smoothie really slowly as it thawed out. This mean’t that I wasn’t starving by 10 am, and I was able to eat the rest of my meals at a normal time. wooo!

On day five I tried out a new smoothie recipe: I used 2 cups of spinach, 2 cups of water, 1 cup of pineapple, 1 banana and 1 apple. The taste was great! But the texture was weird, very grainy. I think this was because the apple didn’t break down enough. But hey, there are worse things. 

I fell off the wagon on day sixyup, you heard correctly. I didn’t have a green smoothie on Friday. Let me explain, after vowing not to forget my smoothie in the freezer… I forgot my smoothie in the freezer. Instead I had a protein powder shake because I had the day off and I made plans to go to the gym. I attended a fantastic hot yoga class, it really worked my whole body. Then my mum and I ran errands together. By the time I got home I had completely forgotten about my smoothie, instead I prepped for my wild rager of a Christmas party and then I partied with my friends.

This little bump in the road ended up being a good thing because on day seven I needed all the nourishment that I could get. I was seriously hungover and I had a big day ahead of me, so at 6:15 am I chugged back my entire green smoothie in just over a minute. I’m pretty sure it is the one and only reason I survived the remainder of the day. Thank you green smoothie gods.

It was definitely a week filled with bumps and hiccups but I think it has been worth it. I don’t know that I’ve lost any weight yet but I feel pretty good. More energized and just healthier in general. As long as I remember to take the smoothies out of the freezer and I can manage the hunger pangs then I think I’ll be able to make it through the remaining 23 days with no problems. Check back in a week for more details.

Share in the comments: Got any green smoothie advice for me? 

2 thoughts on “Green Smoothie Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

